Alexander String Quartet at the Ateneo

Desde: Mayo 17, 2012 - 8:00 pm
Hasta: Mayo 17, 2012 - 10:00 pm

The Alexander String Quartet, who captured international attention as the first American quartet to win the London International String Quartet Competition in 1985, will play on Thursday, May 17, at 8:00 p.m. at the City of Knowledge Ateneo.

Having celebrated their 30th anniversary in 2011, the group has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premier ensembles over nearly three decades.  Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart, and Shostakovich, the quartet has also established itself as an important advocate of new music through over 25 commissions from such composers as Jake Heggie, Augusta Read Thomas, and Pulitzer Prize-winner Wayne Peterson.

Consisting of Zakarias Grafilo, violin, Frederick Lisfsitz, violin, Paul Yarbrough, viola, and Sandy Wilson, cello, the quartet has worked with a variety of musicians and composers such as Robert Greenberg, performing numerous lecture-concerts with him annually. The quartet has also received honorary degrees from Allegheny College and Saint Lawrence University, as well the Presidential Medal by Baruch College.

Tickets for sale at: Librería Argosy, Galería Allegro, Offices of the National Concert Association (ANC) and the Ateneo Box Office at the day of the event.

Price: $30.00, Musicians $15.00 and Students $5.00

Information: 214-4848 / 214-7236 or

Comparte esto